Meet Julieta

Westchester, NY

Chic | Flirty | Sophisticated

5′ 2″ | Petite | Some Curves | Short Legs | Jeans 26 | Size 0-2

Mama of two little boys, Personal Stylist

Former black wearer turned color lover and expert. I’m a proud Colombian of indigenous descent with half of my heart back in my homeland. I now live in the suburbs of NY with my also Colombian husband and two wild boys. When I’m not helping mamas enhance their natural beauty through style, I’m raising bilingual and bicultural kids — taking as many bathroom/closet trips as needed, chocolate in hand, and all.

Read More About Me | My Top 4 Picks | My Recent Posts | Shop My Closet

Julieta’s Top 4 Picks

Julieta’s Recent Posts

Shop Julieta’s Closet

Julieta’s FAQ

Let’s get the basics out of the way:  where you live, how many kids, etc.:

I was born and raised in Colombia but moved to NY after getting married. I now live in the Westchester area of New York. I have two boys, another (boy, I think) in heaven, and I don’t think I’m going to try for a girl. My mom ended up with four girls so I think I’ll be the opposite.

Three words to describe your personal style. Go.:

Hmm..chic, classic yet modern. Or the blend of whatever I can find clean.

Who are your style icons? How do you integrate those tastes into your own wardrobe if at all?:

Olivia Palermo and Aimee Song. I integrate the things that go with my personal style but more importantly with my lifestyle. When you’re 24/7 with kids you can’t got for a 3-inch heel or any heel at all.

How has your personal style changed since becoming a mom?:

I think the biggest change in my style has been footwear. I used to rely a lot on high-heeled shoes because I’m very petite and my husband is tall. Do you know where all my heels are now? In a box somewhere in the basement because I can’t hear heels higher than 3″ anymore! Now I’m always on the look for cute and comfortable flat and low-heeled shoes.

What’s your most-worn piece? (If it’s sweatpants…we won’t tell.):

A moto leather jacket. It pulls together any outfit. I wear it with everything from sweatpants to fancy dresses. 

Sometimes it’s hard to gauge height from an Instagram or blog post – SO…how tall are you?:

I’m 5’2 1/2”.  That half inch makes all the difference.

Your top three beauty products?:

I love living proof hair mask. It’s about all I do for my hair. I also wear short fake eyelashes from time to time. When I have them on I don’t even wear more than some blush. And recently I started lipstick. A friend hooked me up with Lipsense and I’m obsessed. It makes me feel put together even when I don’t get to dress nice.

What drew you to blogging and when did you start?:

I started noticing personal style blogs some time after moving to the USA and it really caught my attention, but I was most invested in learning the language. I kept putting it off until after I had my oldest son. I wanted to keep a foot in the fashion world during the little kids’ stage because I always wanted to be home those years.

What does a typical day look like? How do you manage time with kids vs blogging (or work)?:

My typical day is well, hectic as any other mom’s day. Right now my routine is different everyday. The arrival of the new baby and my oldest practically not napping anymore have made me get creative about when and where I blog. Now I work in his room while he plays “quietly” and early bedtimes are my salvation. Three things I like to do first thing in the mornings are getting the kids and myself dressed, do the beds and have breakfast, but sometimes I finish doing those around bedtime, so…

After the craziest, worst days we all find salvation in seeing our kids. What’s your favorite thing to do with them to decompress?:

Well, I’m with them most of the time so my decompressing really happens after they are asleep. However, going out for walks or laying down to read some books are some of our favorite activities.

If you could give only one piece of advice to a timid, new mom (we’ve been there), what would it be?:

That sounds like me? But I would tell her it’s ok not to be perfect or have it all figured out. Oh! and perfectly ok to cry for everything and anything.

What did you dream of being when you were young?:

A fashion designer. My grandma taught me to hand sew and cut some patterns since I was very little. Every time I went to her house I would leave with a bag of fabric leftovers to sew clothing for my dolls and barbies. I rarely played with dolls. I made clothes while my sisters played.

What’s one fashion risk you love to see on others but would NEVER take yourself?:

Does a messy top bun count? I absolutely love how it looks on others but I think it looks hideous on me.